How do I add or remove profiles from my Portal?

This article applies to Portal

See Portal TV article

Over the next few months, we are updating your Portal’s home screen and settings. Some steps will be different if your Portal has the new home screen.

You can have up to five profiles linked to your Portal. These accounts can be Facebook, WhatsApp or Workplace accounts.

Only invite people you trust to add a profile to your Portal. When someone adds their Facebook account on your Portal, their Facebook friends and Messenger connections will become contacts on your Portal, and you will be able to call their contacts. To add WhatsApp contacts to your Portal, connect your WhatsApp account to your Portal.

To add a profile to your Portal:

  1. From Apps, tap Settings .
  2. Tap Profiles or Accounts.
  3. Tap Add account or Add profile.
  4. Follow the on-screen instructions to confirm your Facebook, WhatsApp or Workplace account, then tap Next.
  5. Have the person you'd like to add to your Portal select the account(s) they would like to add, then tap Next.
  6. Have the person you'd like to add follow the on-screen instruction to log in with their Facebook, WhatsApp or Workplace account.
  7. Tap Next.

If you are having trouble with your Facebook account, visit the Facebook Help Centre

When someone adds a profile, they'll be able to:

  • See, hear and delete all of your Portal's voice interactions in Portal settings or on their Facebook activity log.
  • Make changes to voice interaction settings on your Portal, which will apply to your voice interactions.
  • Use and change other settings on your Portal, which may apply across your Portal.
  • Add profiles to or remove profiles from your Portal, which could include removing your account.
  • Add photos or connect to third-party services on your Portal.
  • View and access any information you use or access on your Portal, including the ability to view and call your contacts.

To remove a profile from your Portal:

  1. From Apps, tap Settings .
  2. Tap Profiles or Accounts.
  3. Tap the profile that you'd like to remove.
  4. Tap Remove profile or Remove account and follow the on-screen instructions.
  5. Tap Remove to confirm.
Notes:
  • You can also remove your own profile from your Portal from the Security and login menu in your Facebook settings. If your Facebook account is deleted, deactivated or you change your Facebook password, your account will also be removed from your Portal. Anyone who uses a Portal, not just another owner, can view and call all contacts, manage favourites, see photos added to your Portal, and use third-party services connected to your Portal.
  • Removing a profile from your Portal will remove the contacts, photos and other data associated with that account, and will remove the profile holder from certain connected third-party apps.
  • Removing all accounts that are connected to a Portal will automatically factory reset that Portal.
  • If one of multiple account holders is removed from your Portal, call history on the Portal will remain but it will no longer show that the removed account holder initiated a call.
  • Learn more about adding and removing accounts on Portal TV.

Was this article helpful?

Last updated 16 June 2021
Share
Copy Link


Looking for something else?


Receive emails from Facebook about Portal and other Facebook hardware products.

Sign me up

“Hey Portal” voice command availability varies. Learn more. Screen images simulated. User experience may vary. Requires wireless Internet connection and Facebook or WhatsApp account. WhatsApp is not available on tablets. Features, functionality and content vary and may not be available on all Portal models or in all areas and languages. Some features may require a Facebook account and downloading the Portal mobile app. Additional account registration, terms and fees may apply.

*Offer valid from 21 September 2021 (09:00 PST) to 30 September 2021 (16:59 PST). Represents savings off standard, non-promotional prices. Both products must be purchased on the same receipt to qualify. Valid on qualifying purchases at portal.facebook.com. Excludes all Portal accessories. Cannot be combined with any other offers, discounts or coupons. Not valid on prior purchases and non-transferable. Not valid for cash or cash equivalent. Valid on in-stock products only. Offer may be cancelled or modified at any time without notice. Void where prohibited.

©2021 Facebook, Inc. or its affiliates. All rights reserved. Facebook, Portal from Facebook and the Facebook logo are trademarks of Facebook, Inc. Amazon, Alexa and all related logos are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates. Other names and brands may be claimed as the property of others.