How do I lock or end my Messenger Room on Portal?

This article applies to Portal

You can lock or end your room to keep new people from joining. You can only lock or end a room if you created the room.

Locking your room keeps new people from joining your room. When you lock your room, anyone who is already in the room can continue to chat. You can unlock your room anytime.

Ending your room removes all members and disables the link so it can’t be reused.

To lock your room:

  1. From Apps orHome, tap Contacts .
  2. Tap Rooms.
  3. Tap Join next to your room, then tap Join Room.
  4. Tap Invite People.
  5. Tap next to Lock Room, then tap Lock.

To end your room:

  1. From Apps orHome, tap Contacts .
  2. Tap Rooms.
  3. Tap Join next to your room, then tap Join Room.
  4. Tap Invite People.
  5. Tap End Room, then tap End Room.

Over the next few months we are updating how your Portal’s home screen looks. Learn more about the new home screen.


Was this article helpful?

Last updated April 6, 2021
Share
Copy Link


Looking for something else?


Get emails from Facebook about Portal and other Facebook hardware products.

“Hey Portal” voice command availability varies. Learn more. Screen images simulated. User experience may vary. Requires wireless internet connection and Facebook or WhatsApp account. WhatsApp is not available on tablets. Features, functionality, and content vary and may not be available on all Portal models or in all areas and languages. Some features may require a Facebook account and downloading the Portal mobile app. Additional account registration, terms and fees may apply.

*Offer valid April 17, 2021 (9:00 pm PST) – May 9, 2021 (11:59 pm PST). Limit 4 devices per transaction. Valid on qualifying purchases at portal.facebook.com. Subject to availability, quantities are limited. Not valid on prior orders or purchases; cannot be transferred or otherwise redeemed for cash. Cannot be combined with other offers, discounts, bundles, or coupons. Facebook Technologies, LLC reserves the right to cancel or modify this offer at any time without notice. Void where prohibited.

©2021 Facebook, Inc. or its affiliates. All rights reserved. Facebook, Portal from Facebook and the Facebook logo are trademarks of Facebook, Inc. Amazon, Alexa and all related logos are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates. Other names and brands may be claimed as the property of others.