How do I add or remove accounts from my Portal?

This article applies to:Portal+, Portal (Gen 1), Portal Mini, Portal

You can have up to 4 accounts linked to your Portal. The accounts you add must be Facebook friends.

Only invite people you trust to add an account to your Portal. When someone adds an account, they’ll become another owner of your Portal, and they’ll be able to:

  • See, hear, and delete all of your Portal’s voice interactions in Portal Settings or on their Facebook Activity Log.
  • Make changes to voice interaction settings on your Portal, which will apply to your voice interactions.
  • Use and change other settings on your Portal, which may apply across your Portal.
  • Add accounts to or remove accounts from your Portal, which could include removing your account.
  • Add photos or connect to third party services on your Portal.
  • View and access any information you use or access on your Portal, including the ability to view and call your contacts.

Also, when someone adds an account on your Portal, their Facebook friends and Messenger connections will become contacts on your Portal, and you will be able to call their contacts.

To add an account to your Portal:

  1. From Home on your Portal, tap Settings.
  2. Tap the Accounts tab.
  3. Tap Add Account.
  4. Follow the on-screen instructions to confirm your Facebook account.
  5. Tap Next.
  6. Select the person you'd like to add to your Portal. If you don't see the person you'd like to add, use the Search option to find who you're looking for.
  7. Have the person you'd like to add to your Portal tap Log in with Facebook.
  8. Have the person you'd like to add follow the on-screen instruction to log in with their Facebook account.

To remove an account from your Portal:

  1. From Home on your Portal, tap Settings.
  2. Tap the Accounts tab.
  3. Tap the account you'd like to remove and follow the on-screen instructions.

Notes:

  • You can also remove your own account from your Portal from the Security and Login menu in your Facebook settings. If your Facebook account is deleted, deactivated or you change your Facebook password, your account will also be removed from your Portal.
  • Anyone who uses your Portal, not just another owner, can view and call all contacts, manage favorites, see photos added to your Portal, and use third-party services connected to your Portal.
  • Removing an account from your Portal will remove the contacts, photos and other data associated with that account, and will remove the account holder from certain connected third party apps.
  • Removing all accounts that are connected to a Portal will automatically factory reset that Portal.
  • If one of multiple account holders is removed from your Portal, call history on the Portal will remain but it will no longer show that the removed account holder initiated a call.
  • Learn more about adding and removing accounts on Portal TV.

Was this article helpful?

Last updated January 27, 2020
Share
Copy Link


Looking for something else?


Get emails from Facebook about Portal and other Facebook hardware products.

©2020 Facebook, Inc. or its affiliates. All rights reserved.

Screen images simulated. User experience may vary.

*Represents savings off of regular, non-promotional prices. Both products must be purchased on same receipt to qualify. Valid on qualifying purchases at portal.facebook.com. Not valid on prior purchases and non-transferable. Not valid for cash or cash equivalent. Void where prohibited.

**$30 off Offer valid 1/30/20 through 2/17/20 on qualifying purchases at portal.facebook.com. Portal TV excluded from $30 off Offer. Limit 4 devices per transaction. Not valid on prior purchases and non-transferable. Not valid for cash or cash equivalent. Subject to availability, quantities are limited. Savings automatically applied at checkout. Void where prohibited. Represents savings off of regular, non-promotional prices.

Muppets © Disney 2020