Why do I have to log in with Facebook to view or edit certain settings on my Portal?

This article applies to:Portal+, Portal (Gen 1), Portal TV, Portal Mini, Portal

Some settings require you to confirm your Facebook login to make sure you are the one viewing or editing these settings on your Portal.

You can control this with the following options:

  • If you have already confirmed your login status in Settings on your Portal and don’t close the Settings menu, you won’t be required to re-authenticate your status to access some settings for a short period of time.
  • During your initial Portal setup or when accessing some settings on your Portal, selecting the checkbox next to Don't ask me to confirm my login again will allow you to access some settings without logging in again with Facebook.
    • You can turn off this setting under the Accounts section of your Portal's Settings menu.

Notes:

  • Some settings will always require authentication, such as when new accounts are added to Portal.
  • If you allow access to some settings without logging in again with Facebook, anyone who has access to your Portal will be able to view and edit those settings.

Was this article helpful?

Last updated June 24, 2020
Share
Copy Link


Looking for something else?


Get emails from Facebook about Portal and other Facebook hardware products.

“Hey Portal” voice command availability varies. Learn more. Screen images simulated. User experience may vary. Requires wireless internet connection and Facebook or WhatsApp account. WhatsApp is not available on tablets. Features, functionality, and content vary and may not be available on all Portal models or in all areas and languages. Some features may require a Facebook account and downloading the Portal mobile app. Additional account registration, terms and fees may apply.

*Represents savings off of regular, non-promotional prices. Both products must be purchased on same receipt to qualify. Valid on qualifying purchases at portal.facebook.com. Not valid on prior purchases and non-transferable. Not valid for cash or cash equivalent. Valid on in-stock products only. Offer may be cancelled or modified at any time without notice. Void where prohibited.

©2020 Facebook, Inc. or its affiliates. All rights reserved. Facebook, Portal from Facebook and the Facebook logo are trademarks of Facebook, Inc. Amazon, Alexa and all related logos are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates. Other names and brands may be claimed as the property of others.