How do I add or remove accounts on my Portal TV?

This article applies to Portal TV  

See Portal article  

You can have up to 5 accounts linked to your Portal. These accounts can be Facebook or WhatsApp accounts.

Only invite people you trust to add an account to your Portal TV. When someone adds their Facebook account on your Portal TV, their Facebook friends and Messenger connections will become contacts on your Portal TV, and you will be able to call their contacts. To add WhatsApp contacts to your Portal TV, connect your WhatsApp account to your Portal.

When someone adds an account on your Portal TV, their Facebook friends and Messenger connections will become contacts on your Portal TV. If they add their WhatsApp account to your Portal TV, their WhatsApp contacts will also become contacts on your Portal TV. You will then be able to call their contacts and they will be able to call your contacts from Portal TV.

To add an account to your Portal:

  1. From Home on your Portal, select Settings.
  2. Select Accounts.
  3. Select Add Account.
  4. Follow the on-screen instructions to confirm your Facebook or WhatsApp account.
  5. Select Next.
  6. Select Continue.
  7. Select Log in with Facebook or Log in with WhatsApp.
  8. Select Continue.
  9. Have the person you'd like to add follow the on-screen instruction to log in with their Facebook or WhatsApp account.

When you add an account to your Portal, they’ll be able to:

  • See, hear, and delete all of your Portal TV voice interactions in Portal TV Settings or from their Facebook Activity Log.
  • Make changes to voice interaction settings on your Portal TV, which will apply to your voice interactions.
  • Use and change other settings on your Portal TV, which may apply across your Portal TV.
  • Add accounts to, or remove accounts from, your Portal TV, which could include removing your account.
  • View and access any information you use or access on your Portal TV, including the ability to view and call your contacts.

To remove an account from your Portal:

  1. From Home on your Portal, select Settings.
  2. Select Accounts.
  3. Select the account you’d like to remove.
  4. Select Remove Account and follow the on-screen instructions.
Notes:
  • You can also remove your own account from your Portal TV from the Security and Login menu in your Facebook settings. If your Facebook account is deleted, deactivated or you change your Facebook password, your account will also be removed from your Portal TV.
  • Anyone who uses your Portal TV, not just another owner, can view and call all contacts, manage favorites, see photos added to your Portal TV, and use third-party services connected to your Portal.
  • Removing an account from your Portal TV will remove the contacts, photos and other data associated with that account, and will remove the account holder from certain connected third party apps.
  • Removing all accounts that are connected to a Portal TV will automatically factory reset that Portal.
  • If one of multiple account holders is removed from your Portal TV, call history on the Portal TV will remain, but it will no longer show that the removed account holder initiated a call.

Was this article helpful?

Last updated March 30, 2021
Share
Copy Link


Looking for something else?


Get emails from Facebook about Portal and other Facebook hardware products.

Sign Me Up

Portal voice command availability varies. Learn more. Screen images simulated. User experience may vary. Requires wireless internet connection and Facebook or WhatsApp account. WhatsApp is not available on tablets. Features, functionality, and content vary and may not be available on all Portal models or in all areas and languages. Some features may require a Facebook account and downloading the Portal mobile app. Additional account registration, terms and fees may apply.

*Offer valid September 21, 2021 (9:00 AM PST) – October 31, 2021 (8:59 PM PST). Represents savings off of regular, non-promotional prices. Both products must be purchased on same receipt to qualify. Valid on qualifying purchases at portal.facebook.com. Excludes all Portal accessories. Cannot be combined with any other offers, discounts, or coupons. Not valid on prior purchases and non-transferable. Not valid for cash or cash equivalent. Valid on in-stock products only. Offer may be cancelled or modified at any time without notice. Void where prohibited.

©2021 Facebook, Inc. or its affiliates. All rights reserved. Facebook, Portal from Facebook and the Facebook logo are trademarks of Facebook, Inc. Amazon, Alexa and all related logos are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates. Other names and brands may be claimed as the property of others.