How do I perform a factory reset on my Portal?

This article applies to:Portal (Gen 1), Portal+, Portal Mini, Portal

Resetting your Portal will set the device to its original factory settings and will disconnect any accounts, erase any preferences, local device data and or settings you've set on the device.

To perform a factory reset on your Portal using the touchscreen:

  1. From Home on your Portal, tap Settings.
  2. Scroll down and tap Factory Reset. If prompted, select who's making changes to your Portal settings and log in with your Facebook account.
  3. Tap Reset to complete a factory reset on your Portal.

To manually perform a factory reset on your Portal or Portal Mini:

  1. Unplug your Portal.
  2. Press and hold both the Volume Down and Volume Up buttons and plug your Portal back in at the same time.

You will get an on-screen notification that your Portal will factory reset in 10 seconds.

To manually perform a factory reset on your Portal+ or Portal (Gen 1):

  1. Press and hold the Volume Down button.
  2. Press and hold the Power button while pressing Volume Down.
  3. Tap Factory Reset on your Portal display.

Was this article helpful?

Last updated November 1, 2019
Share
Copy Link


Looking for something else?


Get emails from Facebook about Portal and other Facebook hardware products.

©2020 Facebook, Inc. or its affiliates. All rights reserved.

Screen images simulated. User experience may vary.

*Represents savings off of regular, non-promotional prices. Both products must be purchased on same receipt to qualify. Valid on qualifying purchases at portal.facebook.com. Not valid on prior purchases and non-transferable. Not valid for cash or cash equivalent. Void where prohibited.